01
Aug
08

freestyles from back in the day

 

Here go a few freestyles from back in the day.  Shout to my boy Stretch Armstrong, First person to ever put me on the radio.  I remember sleeping in his studio when I didn’t want to go home. 

I used to go by the name, Quikman.  I know, I know…LOL

 

LISTEN NOW Free Style on Stretch

24 Responses to “freestyles from back in the day”


  1. 1 Jay
    August 1, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    lol quikman.. ima listen to it now. by the way just wondering.. is free agent gonna have them dre beats? is it gonna be the official album an underground album or a mixtape?

  2. 2 Jay
    August 1, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    damn you was still nasty back then… the flow sounds like redman.. if they would tell me that was joell ortiz before i wouldn’t believe it.

  3. August 1, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Joell My Nigga. Check My Blog Out. I Need You To Check My Tape Out Homie. I Put A lot Of Work Into It. (It May Not Seem Like it But I Did Man. Very Passionate About It.

    DJ Laser.

    http://www.DJLaser.BlogSpot.Com

  4. August 1, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Joell My Nigga. Check My Blog Out. I Need You To Check My Tape Out Homie. I Put A lot Of Work Into It. (It May Not Seem Like it But I Did Man, Werd Up). Very Passionate About It.

    And That Strecth Freestyle is Crazy!

    DJ Laser.

    http://www.DJLaser.BlogSpot.Com

  5. August 1, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    Crazy Freestyle Early in Your Career Kid. I Didn’t Even You Was On Strecth’s Show….That’s What’s Popping.

    Joell Check Out My Tape My Nigga! I Put A lot Into It Homie. (It May Not Seem To Some).

    http://www.DJLaser.BlogSpot.Com

  6. August 2, 2008 at 12:43 am

    No Dre Beats on the Free Agent pimp. It’s a mixtape/album. All new songs. Video for every song

  7. 7 Jay
    August 2, 2008 at 1:49 am

    cool so i guess it’s like the brick to keep that buzz going.I thought free agent was gonna be that official album and i thought damn you gonna stay underground but its good to know that you got big plans. i’ll still get that free agent and damn a video for every song.. thats crazy. i think good times could be pushed to bet. i know that shit would bring so much more fame cuz that’s like mirroring a ny summer so nicely lol.

  8. August 2, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Damn, you were still good back then. You are obviously better now, I wonder how much better you will be in 10 years? lol

    Keep up the good work and I’m waiting on Free Agent. MAKE IT FIRE!!

  9. 9 NYVAN
    August 2, 2008 at 3:39 am

    Yeah, flow sounded like red man. Lyrics nasty tho’

    Anyway you can get that “Street Knowledge” or “Humble” single up on your blog?

  10. August 2, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    […]This is an old freestyle by Joell Ortiz from the days when he used to call himself Quikman.[…]

  11. 11 morena
    August 2, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    yo i love you and this blog to death, I love gettin to find out stuff about artists i respect… like Quikman? REALLY Joell are you serious with life? I woulda never guessed that lol yo keep updating your blog its what your people want!!! yo you sound like a legitimate member of the lox on the freestyle. fuck YOOO you need to do a track wit em that would be fire ! Jada Sheek Styles and Joell on a record? ppfttt yo I hope you realize how ill you are (i muy caliente).

    much love to you papi! xo

  12. 12 morena
    August 2, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    yo at 4 mins thats you??

    that sound like sheek

    crazy

    “got so much brain thats my SAT”

  13. 13 morena
    August 2, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    u know whats fucked up… artists now a days couldn’t do this !!! you just murdered how many beats… i can’t see 99% of artists jackin for beats now and not recycling they rhymes… the game needs you still

  14. August 3, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Damn man, you used to sound just like Sheek back in the day! Props on the info about the Free Agent joint. Are the Free Agent Freestyle and Purple Tape tribute gonna be on the album?

  15. August 3, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    when does your mixtape drop?can’t wait to hear the full tape

  16. August 4, 2008 at 1:07 am

    Mad love Joell! This is ‘sooooo’ bootleggish and all, but I have a request…if it’s cool? ‘course mad folks have done this on ‘space and probably on ‘book (Myspace, Facebook), but in my pursuit of attracting mo’ readers to my own personal blog (eh, comp. recognizes comp.!), I will occasionally do blog comments on other sites to kinda ‘product place’ my own stuff in thurr, you know? Rather than goin’ through the trouble of pickin’ random things to comment on, can you peep my blog (soo desperate blogger meets housewives with it, huh?) and if it’s “interesting” ’nuff, you’ll post ‘long side your “sites” you peep? Hhmmm….? ; ) Cwwwazy love ‘gardless, just had to finally toss it out, chu know? ; ) Mad love maaaaaaan!

    -Go Cyrus Go (Inspector Gadget with it, huh?

  17. 17 Brooklynbound624
    August 4, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    This is some tough shit……..Niggas sleepin on you……
    Letter to Obama is my jam got it all over my myspace and my ipod homie keep it up

  18. August 5, 2008 at 2:09 am

    I heard every one of these freestyles live on Stretch. You Lazy, Boom Pacino and Pretty Ugly used to be the main reason I tuned in to Stretch every Sunday night. Those were moments in history for me. You gotta get the joint up that you did with Pretty Ugly though, I think it was called “Philly-Brooklyn Niggas”

  19. August 5, 2008 at 2:33 am

    “Speaking of Stretch, can we have a “Where Art Thou” for Quick, Lazy, and Pretty Ugly? That freestyle with these 3 guys plus Boom Pacino is right up there with that Cam and Juelz joint for top 5 radio freestyles ever. And if you could find the audio for that, you would truly be the Archivist.”

    My friend and I have been waiting for this for 9 years. Today is a great day.

  20. 20 Zee
    August 5, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    shits hot for real dun.. man feed us more of this crack! one.

  21. 21 hec44
    August 13, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    yo pai not dic riddin but u the nicest mc since big pun no disrespect to pun but i can t wait to hear ur album

  22. August 25, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Quickman?? AYOOOOO

    Just to let you know I go the Bodega album bumpin’. I listen to that joint at least once a week.

    Where is the mixtape? Where is the album?

  23. 23 jose
    September 9, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    keep doing your thing they can stop you now


Leave a Reply

